Iveco has won the 2012 Dakar Rally.  With a first, second and sixth place in the overall truck ranking, the company dominated the 2012 Dakar.

The Petronas De Rooy Iveco team won the rally with the Dutchman Gerard De Rooy, driving an Iveco Powerstar, a vehicle produced and sold by Iveco in Australia.

2289 Trakker Dakar 2012 jpg 427x284

The Iveco Powerstar was equipped with an FPT Industrial C13 engine, with more than 900 horsepower, and Magneti Marelli parts.

Now click below for more on Iveco’s 2012 Dakar victory…

Behind De Rooy, the other pilots of the team, Stacey and Biasion drove two Iveco Trakker Evolution 2s, also equipped with the same engine. The three vehicles, while adapted to the extreme conditions of the rally, were standard trucks optimised for best-in-class energy efficiency.

Speaking to Tachoblog, Iveco CEO, Alfredo Altavilla, said,  “The Iveco participation in the Dakar 2012 aimed to confirm once more the excellent reliability of the Iveco trucks and of the FPT Industrial engines.

“Winning the rally and ranking 3 trucks in the first 6 positions is an outstanding success which shows the efficiency, strength and safety of the Iveco Trakker and Powerstar, already considered by customers as the ideal solution for everyday use and for tougher challenges.

“My special thanks to the drivers and all the other team members for their commitment and dedication.”

For Iveco, the Dakar 2012 was a great opportunity to confirm the reliability of its products on the ground: each vehicle was put on trial in extreme conditions crossing three countries of South America.

The race, which started on January 1, 2012 in Mar del Plata, crossed Argentina, Chile and Peru, covering 14 stages, for a total of 8,500 kilometres, around 4,200 of which were against the clock.